top of page

Sauté your pea shoots!

The other day, I had a sriracha salmon bowl planned for dinner and I thought "why not saute up some pea shoots to go with it. So, I did. I thought I share what I added to them to give you an idea on how to use pea microgreens in your cooking.


First I harvest my greens. Pea shoots are quite larger then most microgreens. Which is why, besides a smoothie, they also lend themselves well to the frying pan or wok.



I used avocado oil, garlic, ginger, and rice vinegar. Our dinner was asian themed, so I wanted some ingredients that are common in asian cuisine. You could totally do just garlic though if your recipe isn't themed.


Then I added them to the pot and cooked them over med heat. They don't take long at all!

I stirred them around a bit when adding my fixings to them and to help them evenly cook.



Here they are done! As you can see, I used a lot of garlic. It's a go-to in our kitchen!


Here's the finished meal. They went perfect with the salmon bowl. The peas added a sweet note to the spicyness of the creamy-sriracha sauce.


If you're looking for some inspiration to shoot up your next meal with fresh pea shoots, here are a few thoughts:

For breakfast I like them in smoothies, or on an everything bagel with cream cheese. for lunch, you could try adding them to a salad mix or on a sandwich or burger, or with your favorite wrap. For dinner, any variation of sauteed greens or added to a stir fry is a quick pick, or using them in a soup recipe. They could also be used as just a regular side to your meal! Now if you're looking for something with a little more effort or excitement, we really enjoy using them to make pestos, dips, spreads or additions to sauces and the like, a quick pulse with a food processor can make this task painless yet rewarding! When your main part of the dish takes so long to cook or is too complicated, the pea shoots make for an easy side that you don't have to much thought into. I'm hoping to try it in soup next!

Thanks for reading!

bottom of page